Eight components of yoga [ edit ]

Eight components of yoga [ edit ]

  • Kriya Yoga is closely related sicuro Karma Yoga, which is also expounded sopra Chapter 3 of the Bhagavad Passeggiata, where Arjuna is encouraged by Krishna to act without attachment sicuro the results or fruit of action and activity. It is the yoga of selfless action and service.
  • Ashtanga Yoga describes the eight limbs that together constitute Raja Yoga.

Patanjali begins his treatise by stating the purpose of his book durante the first sutra, followed by defining the word «yoga» con his second sutra of Book 1:

This terse definition hinges on the meaning of three Sanskrit terms. I. K. Taimni translates it as «Yoga is the inhibition ( nirodha? ) of the modifications ( v?tti ) of the mind ( citta )». Swami Vivekananda translates the sutra as «Yoga is restraining the mind-stuff (Citta) from taking various forms (Vrittis).» Edwin Bryant explains that, preciso Patanjali, «Yoga essentially consists of meditative practices culminating con attaining verso state of consciousness free from all modes of active or discursive thought, and of eventually attaining a state where consciousness is unaware of any object external puro itself, that is, is only aware of its own nature as consciousness unmixed with any other object.»

1. Yamas [ edit ]

Yamas are ethical rules per Hinduism and can be thought of as moral imperatives. The five yamas listed by Patanjali per Yogasutra 2.30 are:

(??????): Nonviolence, non-harming other living beings (????): truthfulness, non-falsehood (??????): non-stealing (??????????): chastity, marital fidelity or sexual restraint (?????????): non-avarice, non-possessiveness

Patanjali, con Book 2, explains how and why each of the above self restraints help per the personal growth of an individual. For example, mediante verse II.35, Patanjali states that the virtue of nonviolence and non-injury puro others (Ahimsa) leads sicuro the abandonment of enmity, verso state that leads the yogi sicuro the perfection of inner and outer amity with everyone, everything.

2. Niyama [ edit ]

The second component of Patanjali’s Yoga path is called niyama, which includes virtuous habits, behaviors and observances (the «dos»). Sadhana Pada Verse 32 lists the niyamas as:

: purity, clearness of mind, speech and body : contentment, acceptance of others, acceptance of one’s circumstances as they are durante order preciso get past or change them, optimism for self : persistence, perseverance, austerity : study of Vedas (see Sabda per epistemology section), study of self, self-reflection, introspection of self’s thoughts, speeches and actions : contemplation of the Ishvara (God/Supreme Being, Brahman, True Self, Unchanging Reality)

As with the Yamas, Patanjali explains how and why each of the above Niyamas help in the personal growth of an individual. For example, per verse II.42, Patanjali states that the virtue of contentment and acceptance of others as they are (Santo?a) leads puro the state where inner sources of joy matter most, and the craving for external sources of pleasure ceases.

3. Asana [ edit ]

?????????????? ????Translation 1: An asana is what is steady and pleasant. Translation 2: Motionless and Agreeable form (of staying) is Asana (yoga posture).

Asana is thus verso posture that one can hold for verso period of time, staying relaxed, steady, comfortable and motionless. Patanjali does not list any specific asana, except the terse suggestion, «posture one can hold with comfort and motionlessness». Ara?ya translates verse II.47 of Yoga sutra as, «asanas are perfected over time by relaxation of effort with meditation on the infinite»; this combination and practice stops the quivering of body. The posture that causes pain or restlessness is not a yogic posture. Other secondary texts studying Patanjali’s http://datingranking.net/it/omegle-review sutra state that one requirement of correct posture is onesto keep breast, neck and head erect (proper spinal posture).

Deja un comentario